Mark Gillett

Come back frequently……

Crazy, Mad Fun…

with 3 comments

Mmm I woke up this morning and motivation was so hard to find. I started the day with a meeting which went well but then my head just descended into and abyss of darkness and wonder at where I should start. I finally made the decision to go into London where the noise and bustle would undoubtedly wake me up. I knew I could find somewhere to work from and could make a few calls on the way. I packed the dog off to the carer and she seemed delighted to not be in a quiet place for the rest of the day as she ran speedily up the steps to her temporary home until the evening. In fact she was so fast she misjudged the steps and catapulted herself into second step with a huge crash. Slightly stunned and falling back to the road, she then attempted it a second time with a little better judgement. The door opened and she was gone….

I got into my car with my bike loaded on the back, drove straight down the A3 and parked in my parkatmyhouse.com parking space.

The following 25 minutes was all I needed to wake me up to the world and get my head working. I jumped on my bike and set off toward central London. I had in my head that I would either head for Notting Hill or Soho… The first few kilometres were fairly straight forward. Not much traffic and big wide blue lanes all to myself and I was cycling in a leisurely manner.. I crossed the Thames and followed the riverbank for a while and made the decision to head for Soho. A great little cafe called The Rapha Cycle Club. I know I can lock my bike inside the cafe and it will not get stolen as happened in July!! I past the towers of the Battersea Power Station and my pace began to change. As did my head. The traffic started getting busier and when I turned towards Victoria the fun began. I suddenly found myself in that familiar biking ground of being squeezed between a dumper truck and a big red bus. As usual I just prayed that they had seen me and when the lights finally change that they wont get any closer together and squidge me into my next life sooner than anticipated. I tried to edge forward to get in front to the bike area at the light but the gap was just too tight… My heart rate rose a bit but this is normal too.. ha.

Finally we set off and with a sigh the bus went left and I was free to go on. I started gathering speed deciding I needed to be out front as I would soon get to Hyde Park corner and here its just a case of confidence.. Suddenly all those skills from childhood biking came flooding back. I took on the Corner as fast as I could, changing lanes to turn right I had taxis weaving either side and the same dumper truck creeping up behind me again. I was sure he had it in for me. I made it round in one piece. As I crossed the lights and rode down into Piccadilly thinking all was clear two busses decide to just pull out without any regard for me whatsoever. Then again why would they if they hadn’t seen me? I went right to quickly get round the first and then beyond the second and finally I could pedal down Piccadilly and past Green Park in a more relaxed fashion. I was nearly there.

My next couple of kilometres were easy and Piccadilly Circus was not too much of a bun fight. And now I am here in my cafe about to start writing for my book.

This is pretty much the same every time I come into London. Its a crazy place and a great city. All I can say is, if you are having a dark day, go and get some crazy mad fun to wake you up. Its the only way.

Written by markgillett

September 30, 2013 at 3:54 pm

Posted in Coaching, Life

Tagged with , , , ,

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Thanks for taking me along for the ride. Cheers.

    Teresa

    September 30, 2013 at 4:51 pm

  2. I started holding my breath as soon as you’d gotten on your bike!!! Scaring the dickens out of me during your biking adventures. I’m certainly awake now, thanx!

    Allie Marie

    September 30, 2013 at 5:34 pm

    • Ha, thats funny… Anyway I am about to get back on as I have to move!! Hold your breath again!

      markgillett

      September 30, 2013 at 5:37 pm


Leave a Reply

