Mark Gillett

Come back frequently……

World Flight Ban…..

with 3 comments

I got back from Morocco in the nick of time, or so I was told.  In fact it never even entered my head.

The recent flight ban due to volcanic ash stopped flights all over Europe. In theory this could happen worldwide one day if a few volcanoes decide to erupt simultaneously. I thought about it a bit when I tried to book the Eurotunel for my trip home but found no change, no hassle and just a little more traffic at the terminal but on the roads there was far less.  Obviously passing Gatwick I would expect to see heavy traffic even early in the morning but there was none.

A few days later I thought more and more about the lack of flights.  The so called problems it had caused. But all I had from friends and colleagues were exciting stories. One had taken days to get back from Oslo. Another an eternity from Japan! Someone had spent thousands on a taxi from Germany but all stories were happy ones. They could not wait to share their stories. Stories of real journeys or expeditions. The type of journeys we miss because we fly.  Then I thought about why we fly? For me, door to door Woking to Pairs is half an hour longer by car.  I don’t have to check in. I don’t have to sit next to someone  that smells or that has awful breath.  I can listen to my music and make my calls in peace.  I also do not have to take my bloody shoes, belt and braces off each time I go through customs. Admittedly for long haul I might choose to fly but then I started thinking about that too.

Holidays would be s much more pleasurable.  Would it really hinder me to not be able to fly on holiday? I could still go all over Europe, to the Stans in Asia, in fact many places that I have never been before.  The Caribbean might be a bit tough but so what? I have only been once and am not hankering to return…. I thought about possible journeys to Morocco.  A few days driving, camping and nice hotel on the way in Spain. We would see and experience so much more.  Then we would have the freedom of our car in Morocco. When it was time to come home it would just be part of the journey and we would continue to expeirence the land we covered and people we meet. So much more enriching than airports and crap food and the depression of returning home.

I suppose business was affected hence the histeria in the news. Commerce which our world relies on so heavily was damaged.  But then, was it really?  Would it be without flying? I am not so sure. We would adapt, our farming practices would become more healthy, we would go back to eating seasonal fruits and probably suffer less from Irritable Bowel Syndrome.  Market stalls would flourish and supermarkets would vanish…..  Corner shops would pop up.  There would be fewer conglomerates and more local wealth.  Travel would be exciting and more enriching.  Our lives would overall be healthier and probably morally stronger too. We could still travel.  Humans have travelled successfully for centuries without flying.  And in fact most humans don’t travel much but stay put and perhaps go on one or two holidays a year.

So! Would I miss flights? Not in the slightest. It would for me make the world a more exciting place. And most definitely a more healthy one. Other forms of transport would flourish and travel would continue. Our creativity would return in our efforts to explore and invent clean transport. Travel if we really wanted to. And those who didn’t would not have the dilemma of weather to spend thousands on a sunny holiday in a dirty resort or go explore the lakes, coastline or cities close to home……

Flying did allow me to get the above shots though!  Got to work now………

Written by markgillett

January 15, 2012 at 11:28 am

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. hmm, are you building a new Gillet vision of a future (dys)utopia. I’m kind of with you all the way, there is something obscene about lettuces being flown about in luggage when then there are lorry strikes.

    I have always argued that the green movement and a return to a more rural lifestyle where the local artisans become society’s leaders again will happen, but not from guilty eco posturing and advanced technologies and education, just keep raising the price of fuel and we’ll all change soon enough !

    kes

    April 28, 2010 at 7:50 am

  2. Ah! but the price of oil will never go that high as its carefully controlled as are the market slumps and economy fall outs as we have just witnessed. It just wont happen that way unless an alternative fuel is found.

    markgillett

    April 28, 2010 at 2:25 pm

  3. ok I’ll bite , not a big fan of alternative fuels, i feel we have to accept the current lifestyle is as good as it gets and high technology western solutions will always come at a cost to the planet, the reason china has one of the lowest co2 emissions per capita is the predominance of a less consuming lifestyle.

    so i’d rather not seek an alternative fuel, set aside oil for the essential uses of health etc, and return to a pre industrial lifestyle, this will mean we can;t maintain the eternal holiday we currently live in, but c’est la vie.

    alongside banning beards, legislating for jokes on lolly sticks, I shall also ban flying all foodstuffs, and move the populus about in massive air ships, once I win my landslide tonight there will be changes, ….

    kes

    May 6, 2010 at 8:02 am


Leave a Reply

