Mark Gillett

Come back frequently……

Finding Inspiration-Ordinary People

with 3 comments

Today I had a real problem finding inspiration.  I had a list as long as your arm to to get through which is now tomorrows, I had to run (which I did i the end) and I needed to blog which I struggled with until now…

I thought about what it is that inspires me and went to my image library.  I looked through some more resent stuff and some old stuff too…  I usually do this when i need inspiration.

Ordinary people inspire me. Its very easy to go to a talk and listen to a great achiever and come away temporarily inspired but its so short sighted. If I have a good call or coaching session, I fly.  If I am working with a group I invariably come away inspired. Tonight I had an email communication with someone who told me how I had again inspired him, I think he had no idea how he inspired me too….

Take a look at those around you. In your office, at home, your friends, or just ordinary people you see in the street. Then take a deeper look at them and perhaps their circumstances. Look at their lives and what they endure, or achieve. Who they ‘be’.

The world is full of inspirational people who are ordinary, people who do extraordinary things in their life.  People who seem to be ordinary but actually are not, they have qualities that perhaps they don’t share on a stage but they they are no lesser being.

The images I have posted today each have a story to them. Some quite sad, some not but all are perceived as ordinary people in their environment but who are actually extraordinary.

Look around you for inspiration but look with your eyes open.  Look deeper than just clothing, hair styles or cars or the things that annoy you. Get to know the people in your team in the office. Sometimes the inspiration is right on your doorstep…..

Written by markgillett

February 22, 2010 at 11:17 pm

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Social comments and analytics for this post…

    This post was mentioned on Twitter by markgillett538: Finding Inspiration – Ordinary people http://wp.me/pvysu-cl

    uberVU - social comments

    February 23, 2010 at 2:18 pm

  2. Wonderful shots. Inspiring!

    I love the one with the lady jumping… Her smile behind the hair, the joy apparent even with her eyes behind the shades; and the background: well perfect timing just before sunset. Love it.

    Bu Yousef

    June 22, 2010 at 7:18 pm

    • Thats my step daughter……I will send you a private email…

      Mark

      markgillett

      August 18, 2010 at 12:10 am


Leave a Reply

