Mark Gillett

Come back frequently……

Intent..

with 6 comments

What is your intent?  How do you show your intent? Do you live life with intent…

When I work in sport, intent is always easy to understand but still many do not get it. As a footballer you never do anything without it. You get the ball and you pass it, not just anywhere but to a player on your team. You shoot for goal, you throw in to a player, you kick into touch all for a reason. On a tennis court, you hit every ball with a target (or should) in mind. You always serve with a specific position and strenght in mind.  You consider the power you need and the spin you impart to enable you to play the shot you require – every time. If you do not do this you will fail. You will not make your shot and you will lose the point, then the game and finally the match. Unless of course you are both playing without intent, then its just a big mess. You will also have an outcome goal which is, of course, to win. The smaller task is to win the point and smaller than that is to build to a winning opportunity within the point.  So intent is there all the time. And it must be ‘in the now’…..More on that in my next post..

In sport you have an opponent who is trying to do the same too and failing is a part of the process in any sport. In sailing for example or golf, your opponent is not fighting against you directly but still has an effect on your performance. You are aware of them, their standing, their ability and what you have to do to win. On that journey you will make mistakes but this does not mean you wont win, or be first. It is no different in life but its how you deal with these failures or mistakes along the way that can increase your chance of success. Having intent will greatly increase your chances even more. In both sport and life its a battle that needs to be thought through and tackled with tenacity and skill but can only be done effectively with intent.

Photography is just the same. I have a commission (task or goal), and my intent is to produce the shots required of me by the editor. If its a personal project its still for a reason because if I shoot without then I am likely to fail and produce poor work or simply not enjoy my shoot.

Business and personal stuff is no different. If you live life without intent you will not achieve and therefore not be happy. If you go to work and do not have purpose, you will die in your job. It will eat you up and spit you out for someone else to pick up the pieces for a short while until that job spits you out too.

You business and life goals are inextricably linked and if you take care of only one of them they will both suffer in the end. It is quite common to find someone not performing in work and searching for reasons why they have lost interest to find the problem is in their personal life and, or course, vice versa.

What was my intent on the shoot below? Job wise was to tell the story, show the eagerness at the start and the emotion of finishing a 50km race. I have a complete portfolio of the race and enough shots for the story.  This is just a few. In my personal life the intent was to enjoy my day so I went home happy. Then to go and love my wife and enjoy her too because I had such a good day at the office. I have to throw myself into the work I love and love being at home afterwards otherwise what is the point? In terms of my career it was another step to getting a few commissions I am currently after; my next right answer…….another linked post here http://wp.me/pvysu-7v

My whole day had intent and there was little differential between business and perosnal other than they were in different places.  They have to work together for me to be happy….. and for the people around me to be happy.  If you can relate to this blog try this site as maybe you are in the wrong place…http://www.escapethecity.org/ If its in your life stuff that intent is missing go here http://www.prohabperformance.com/ or call me and we can chat through some ‘stuff’.

Written by markgillett

February 16, 2010 at 3:42 pm

Posted in Coaching, Life, Photography

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. well said, sir!

    Alastair Humphreys

    February 16, 2010 at 6:11 pm

    • Could be one for your Exped talk. I might come along…..

      markgillett

      February 16, 2010 at 6:48 pm

  2. Spot on Mark 🙂

    Tracey Manasseh

    February 16, 2010 at 7:42 pm

    • Hey, thank you… How are you? Must catch up soon

      markgillett

      February 16, 2010 at 7:57 pm

  3. Social comments and analytics for this post…

    This post was mentioned on Twitter by EsctheCity: @markgillett538 check out Mark’s latest post about intent… http://wp.me/svysu-intent

    uberVU - social comments

    February 16, 2010 at 9:01 pm

  4. Great article loved it

    yousef khourshid

    February 17, 2010 at 8:30 am


Leave a Reply

