Mark Gillett

Come back frequently……

Paris Contradictions….

with one comment

I took an hour out today just see what I could notice.  Firstly it was freezing and I could barely keep warm.  The light was beautiful early on but I could see it disappearing fast so as I hadn’t been to the Eiffel Tower for a while I thought I would head over there then before back to the office or home, which ever I decided to work at!

I noticed the usual tourists but also the normal life that goes on around it.  I parked in a nearby street and caught a different view of the tower, saw a tramp shaving, then checking his new face in a broken mirror – beautiful….  There were runners everywhere and the tower just stood their flirting with everyone around it.  The queues were growing and it was still only 9.30.  I stayed for a while and walked the streets.

A few blocks on the other side o the river I parked on the Champs Elysee (tourist spots today) and again just noticed more stuff.  More contradictions, more and more.  Every city has its contradictions but here there seem to be more than usual… Colour, races, rich and poor, young and old.  Or perhaps I just notice them.

Here are a few images of my morning……

Written by markgillett

January 25, 2010 at 1:09 pm

Posted in Travel

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Mark
    Hope all well and happy New Year. Am hoping that 2010 breaks new ground.
    Aye

    Julian

    Julian winser

    January 26, 2010 at 4:50 pm


Leave a Reply

